Earlier this week Microsoft included a full breakdown of everything included in the SP3 update in a recent blog post. It lists hundreds of bug fixes and security updates so if you’ve not downloaded and installed it at home or on your PC’s at work, I highly suggest grabbing the update from the link below. Here’s a full download list for all the various Office 2007 SP3 updates. It’s the most complete list I’ve seen so far. Enjoy! Office 2007 Service pack 3 Download Links

Popped over to the download link and was interested to read from Microsoft that “After a 90 day period, SP3 will be offered as an automatic update through Microsoft Update.” My question is; would it be better to wait for 90 days just in case of bugs in this service pack? The reason I raise this question is because some of the feedback on the forums point to issues with the service pack. For example, one post stated that “After installing compatibility pack SP3, Office 2007/2010 documents (DOCX, XLSX, PPTX) take a very long time (more than a minute) to open in Office 2003 applications (Word 2003, Excel 2003 and PowerPoint 2003). Also the CPU usage is very high during this time (between 50% and 100%). I am willing to send more info for troubleshooting and fixing this issue.” Would be interested to see what other Groovy posters have to say about this service pack and if their system /office suite has been impacted in any way. Keep up the good work… I agree with John that Microsoft does tend to get things wrong at times, so I’ll wait until the official download is made to customers through Microsoft Update, and let others be the judge of the initial release of sp 3. I remember on an older machine (when I installed a free trial of Publisher) the nightmares I had when I uninstalled it. Once bitten, twice shy! Ted, you probably know (but for those that don’t) there are portable versions for Open Office and Libre Office at the following link: http://portableapps.com/apps I’ve used Open Office before and it’s pretty darn good for a free office suite. It is also capable of opening Word docx files. Comment

Δ